RSS

Daring Bakers: Panna Cotta and Florentine Cookies

27 Feb

The February 2011 Daring Baker’s challenge was hosted by Mallory from A Sofa in the Kitchen.  She chose to challenge everyone to make Panna Cotta from a Giada De Laurentis’ recipe and Nestle Florentine Cookies.  I was especially excited about making the panna cotta as I had heard of it so many times but never ventured out to make it myself.  I love to desserts (obviously) but when it comes to making them I usually play it safe with a cake of sorts.  This is why I am so happy to be a part of Daring Bakers as it challenges me to put fear aside and make things I probably would have never considered attempting.

Alright, on to this month’s challenge which I made for my Bible study group on Valentine’s day.  The panna cotta was ridiculously easy to make.  I topped it with some frozen mixed berries that I cooked down with some sugar.  The florentines were also easy to make it was just a bit time consuming.  I didn’t try either of the desserts but the ladies assured me they were both delicious.  Only one of them had ever heard of or tried panna cotta so it was fun to share something new with them.

Check out my fellow bakers here to see their creamy dreamy crunchy sweet desserts.  Thanks Mallory for such a fun challenge this month!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2011 in Cookies

 

12 responses to “Daring Bakers: Panna Cotta and Florentine Cookies

  1. crumbsoflove

    February 27, 2011 at 2:14 PM

    Great job. I too found it quite simple to prepare but LOVED the results

     
  2. Robyn Clarke

    February 28, 2011 at 6:57 PM

    Looks fantastic. I used blueberries as well, couldn’t resist the contrast of the white panna cotta and the dark blue berries

     
  3. chef_d

    March 1, 2011 at 1:12 PM

    The panna cotta looks delicious with the berry topping!

     
  4. Sprinkled With flour

    March 1, 2011 at 4:15 PM

    Great job, yours looks so delicious:)

     
  5. Renata

    March 1, 2011 at 6:04 PM

    You did a great job, your Panna Cotta looks beautiful and delicious. And the cookies look so lacy and crunchy! Sorry to know that you didn’t try them…

     
  6. lisamichele

    March 1, 2011 at 9:08 PM

    Your panna cotta looks amazing..creamy perfection, and your florentines look just like the holiday platter we get every year from one place that makes the best florentines I’ve ever had. Beautifully done all around!

     
  7. shaz

    March 2, 2011 at 9:39 AM

    Did I read that right? You didn’t eat either of the desserts? Wow, what willpower! 🙂 Both the panna cotta and the cookies look fabulous, well done on a great challenge, and thank you for stopping by my little space.

     
  8. Irvin

    March 2, 2011 at 10:49 PM

    I love that you didn’t eat either of the desserts! I often times don’t eat my desserts either. It more fun to make than to eat and to watch other people eat them! Yours look great regardless. I love the berry topping!

     
  9. MandyM

    March 4, 2011 at 9:03 AM

    I’d heard of panna cotta but had yet to try it myself. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to discover something so incredibly delicious. Yay for the Daring Bakers!

    Nice job on your challenge, looks fantastic 🙂

     
  10. blackbookkitchendiaries

    March 4, 2011 at 1:04 PM

    you did a great job with this challenge! it all looks beautiful:)

     
  11. Danelle

    March 18, 2011 at 10:13 PM

    They both look delish! I think I’ll have to try the panna cotta first. It just looks so refreshing.

     
  12. Lea

    April 6, 2011 at 4:32 AM

    Both is great, I especially love the florentine cookies! They turned out great, love them too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
