RSS

Daring Bakers: Biscuit Joconde Imprime/Entremet

27 Jan

The January 2011 Daring Baker’s challenge was hosted by Astheroshe of the blog Acro.  She chose to challenge everyone to make a Biscuit Joconde Imprime to wrap around an Entremets dessert.

My initial reaction to this month’s challenge was one of shock but then the creative juices started flowing.  I was thinking of doing a layer of lemon curd, raspberry mousse and lemon mousse.  I was pretty much set on the flavors until I bought the almond flour needed for the joconde imprime.  The almond flour was $10 and it was just going to be too costly with the ingredients needed for the mousse and curd.

So, it was time to move to plan “B.”  I was making this month’s dessert for a special dinner for my friend and I since both our birthdays are in January.  It just happen to be that Haagen Dazs was on sale and we both love ice cream cake and so plan “B” was born.  I decided on dulce de leche, vanilla and mango ice cream with crushed coconut cookies in between each layer.  I would have preferred to make my own fillings but this was simply a better option due to cost and time.

I wish I could say this challenge was a success for me like last month’s fantastic stollen.  I think pretty much everything that could have gone wrong did.  Let’s start with the fact that my joconde imprime stuck to the silicone liner.  I thought nothing was supposed to stick to those darn things!

Needless to say I was extremely frustrated after peeling the joconde imprime from the liner.  I worked so hard at piping my design that I about cried.  After calming down I decided to do my best and just make it work.  After softening the dulce de leche ice cream I spread it in my springform pan (w/o the bottom) and layered the crushed cookies on top.  I popped it in the freezer to harden before adding the next layer of ice cream.  Well, it seems that the baking sheet I had the pan resting on was slanted and some of the ice cream leaked out all over the freezer.  Fast forward to my birthday dinner with my friend and cutting into our ice cream cake.  We were anxiously awaiting beautiful layers of creamy caramel colored dulce de leche, vanilla and golden mango ice cream.  Instead I cut into what ended up being a tan-colored cake!  I have no idea what happened but there was no distinction between the different layers.

Yes, it tasted good but how could anyone go wrong with Haagen Dazs ice cream?  I might as well have scooped the ice cream into a nice bowl and added the cookies.  The most upsetting part of the entire experience was that my joconde imprime…..I have no idea what went wrong.  If you want to see hundreds of successful and GORGEOUS finished desserts then head on to check out all my fellow daring bakers right here.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in Cakes

 

14 responses to “Daring Bakers: Biscuit Joconde Imprime/Entremet

  1. Ruth H.

    January 27, 2011 at 9:20 AM

    I am so sorry you had such a difficult time with your joconde imprime. Your piped design is beautiful, and I hope that you are brave enough to try this again… I used regulat AP flour instead of almond meal, so that might help you cost-wise to creat your amazing soundsing lemon and raspberry dessert… Can I come over when you make it? 🙂

     
  2. Shelley C

    January 27, 2011 at 10:29 AM

    Oh, I am so sorry to hear about the disappointments, but I am sure that your finished ice cream cake tasted delicious! Your piped decoration was beautiful – I am sorry that your baking mat chose this challenge to go all wonky on you… I hope the Haagen Dazs helped make you feel better. 🙂 Happy Birthday to you and your friend!

     
  3. Deeba @ PAB

    January 27, 2011 at 11:08 AM

    Oh dear, sorry it gave you such a tough time. It’s a fiddly challenge alright, but I’m positive you’ll get it right the next time. Love the decor you painstakingly piped on. Love the DB spirit here!

     
  4. Renata

    January 28, 2011 at 5:57 AM

    By looking at your first photo I would’ve never realized that things went wrong. You managed to get it fixed nicely and I’m sure it was delicious. By the way, your design is awesome!

     
  5. crumbsoflove

    January 28, 2011 at 2:27 PM

    Your entry made me laugh! My first attempt turned out exactly the same!!! I couldn’t figure out how it could stick to a silpat!?! On the 2nd attempt I flip the cake over after only 2 minutes out of the oven and didn’t have a problem. Still frustrating though.
    As they say – try, try again

     
  6. CookCraftGrow

    January 28, 2011 at 6:51 PM

    The Jaconde Imprime can definitely be tricky. I had to use an offset spatula to free a couple stubborn spots. In school we used parchment paper instead of Silpats then you could lightly brush the backside of the paper with water and viola…the imprime would release.
    The designs you did were striking and I hope you try it again.

     
  7. simplycooking101

    January 28, 2011 at 7:45 PM

    Even though it had some issues it still looks pretty. I didn’t want to pay for the almond flour either since it was expensive and I would probably not use the rest so I just ground some almonds in the food processor and it seemed to work ok.

     
  8. Binita

    January 28, 2011 at 9:52 PM

    Sorry to hear about problem with the joconde sticking. I had the same thing happen to me and had to repeat the process! I think I had underbaked the joconde and didn’t let it cool enough before peeling the silpat back. Sounds like your entremet tasted delicious though 🙂 Your piped pattern looks great in the picture!

     
  9. Kim

    January 28, 2011 at 10:28 PM

    I remember reading about your disaster on the forums, so sorry to hear about it but at least you were able to pull it off. The flavors sound great even if the layers weren’t discernable. I too had difficulties with this challenge, but at it worked out in the end, right? Nice job on the challenge!

     
  10. Ruth Ellis

    January 29, 2011 at 7:26 AM

    Hagen Dasz helps to make everything better – it must have been so frustrating for you! I hate baking disasters, and I’ve had my fair few so I feel your pain! Your piping looks beautiful tho. Sure your next bake will be doubly successful to compensate…

     
  11. Evelyne@CheapEthnicEatz

    January 29, 2011 at 1:15 PM

    I feel your pain having had the same thing happen to me. But your first pic looks so beautiful still. What counts in the end is taste and that was a success.

     
  12. Maggie

    January 29, 2011 at 3:57 PM

    Awww, I know how it feels when baking goes like this. I usually stomp out of the kitchen claiming I’ve lost all my “bakign mojo” and swear never to return. The flavors sound fantastic though, espeicially the coconut cookies!!

     
  13. priya srinivasan

    January 30, 2011 at 10:48 AM

    so Sorry to hear abt that!!! I too had a tough time!! i baked my pattern Sponge Twice!!! First one i made filled with Strawberry Ice Cream and Strawberry Filling!!!! It didnt hold shape, Fell Flat!!! Took some time off and baked again!!! Though the final looks wasnt that good, but the taste was Awesome!!!!

     
  14. Mary

    February 2, 2011 at 7:22 PM

    Yikes! I would have been super-frustrated by that too! As long as it tastes good in the end, I guess, but I understand how you feel. I like the pattern you made on the joconde, and luckily most of it survived. I was really shocked by the price of almond meal/flour, so I made my own by just throwing some blanched almonds in the food processor. I plan to make this again, and raspberry is the flavour I am thinking about. With lemon would be even better!
    🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
