RSS

Daring Bakers: Christmas Stollen

27 Dec

The 2010 December Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Penny of Sweet Sadie’s Baking.  She chose to challenge daring bakers to make stollen.  She adapted a friend’s family recipe and combined it with information from friends, techniques from Peter Reinhart’s book and Martha Stewart’s demonstration.

When I read about this month’s challenge I was sure I was not going to like it because it instantly reminded me of panettone which I am not a fan of.  Well, much to my surprise this was absolutely fantastic!  The stollen was massive…the above picture does not do it any justice when it comes to size.  I took a good size piece to work and then pretty much ate the rest all by myself for breakfast and the occasional snack over the course of a week.  My stollen was studded with toasted almonds, coconut, dried pineapple and rum soaked raisins.  Next time I will be more generous with the almonds and coconut so the flavors can be more pronounced.

You can go here to checkout how the other daring bakers handled this month’s challenge.  Click here for a printable version of Penny’s wonderful stollen!

 
21 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2010 in Bread

 

21 responses to “Daring Bakers: Christmas Stollen

  1. Victoria (District Chocoholic)

    December 27, 2010 at 2:44 PM

    Oh I love the idea of dried pineapple and coconut – kind of like a tropical stollen!

     
  2. Jeanne

    December 27, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    Excellent work on the Stollen! I cut the recipe in half and had more than enough for a weeks’ worth of breakfast so I can’t even imagine how much the entire recipe made. 🙂

     
  3. Jenny

    December 27, 2010 at 3:58 PM

    I thought I didn’t like stollen or panettone either, but I think we’ve seen the difference between stale store-bought and delicious Daring Baker triumph. Your stollen looks perfect!

     
  4. Begoña

    December 27, 2010 at 4:16 PM

    I want to make this kind of Stollen… it looks so good!!!
    And when you want, you can come to visit us in Spain…
    Un saludo, Begoña

     
  5. Anna

    December 27, 2010 at 4:58 PM

    Your flavors sounds delicious — such a tropical twist on the stollen. I decided to go the 2 stollens route after seeing how much dough I got — was not sure that my oven can handle that. 🙂

     
  6. Jessica

    December 27, 2010 at 10:59 PM

    Nice job! I really can’t imagine how big the full recipe is… Pineapple sounds like a fantastic ingredient for this!

     
  7. Lou

    December 28, 2010 at 10:23 AM

    Oooh tropical!
    Glad you liked it. I had to eat most of mine myself too. What a hardship! Hee hee.

     
  8. Manoela Jaensch

    December 28, 2010 at 2:23 PM

    I agree with you this recipe is absolutly fantastic!
    I love the dry fruit combination that you use!

     
  9. Renata

    December 28, 2010 at 4:49 PM

    I’m sure the coconut gave your stollen a unique flavor. And I totally understand that it is so easy to eat a whole stollen!
    Happy New Year!!

     
  10. Sarah

    December 28, 2010 at 9:23 PM

    Your stollen sounds great! Adding coconut is a delicious idea and very appropriate for your warmer climate in Florida. I’ll have to be more adventurous with my next batch.

     
  11. Laura

    December 28, 2010 at 11:46 PM

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog. The paper molds are used like you would use muffin cups, just pour the batter into them, let rise and bake.

    Your stollen is beautiful as well.

     
  12. Evelyne@CheapEthnicEatz

    December 28, 2010 at 11:52 PM

    Nice choice of fruits and nuts. It does look massive and I am glad you enjoyed it in the end. So how many breakfasts lol?

     
  13. Aparna

    December 29, 2010 at 9:23 AM

    I’m happy that you ended up liking the stollen. It certainly looks very good.
    Season’s greetings and best wishes for a happy new year.

     
  14. Coz

    December 29, 2010 at 1:58 PM

    Your stollen is beautiful and you made it unique with the tropical flavors! It sounds yummy!

     
  15. Erin

    December 29, 2010 at 2:33 PM

    Great work! Looks and sounds delicious. The coconut and sliced almonds would have been delicious!

     
  16. MaryMoh

    December 30, 2010 at 2:07 AM

    A beautiful stollen. I’m sure it tastes awesome, especially when just fresh from the oven…and the smell, too….mmm. Thanks very much for sharing, happy Holidays!

     
  17. crumbsoflove

    December 30, 2010 at 5:08 PM

    My first batch was a massive loaf as well! Great job- love the sound of coconut in it

     
  18. Suz

    January 1, 2011 at 6:40 PM

    Gorgeous stollen! Pineapple and coconut sounds delicious. I love how massive the loaves were. I cut my recipe in half and it was still a monster!

     
  19. Simona

    January 2, 2011 at 4:46 PM

    I am glad you liked the Stollen you made. It certainly looks very nice. Happy New Year!

     
  20. Suzanne

    January 3, 2011 at 2:30 AM

    Your stollen looks de-lish! It was a fun challenge, super job on it 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
