RSS

The Cake Slice Bakers: Cranberry Cake

25 Dec

I was excited about this cake after the somewhat disastrous cake from last month.  Unfortunately I had some major issues with my sink as well as a major ant infestation so I was unable to bake this cake on time.  The ants seem to be gone now and the sink is in a much better state so I can finally share my cranberry cake experience with you guys!

The one issue I had with this cake is that it definitely was not done in the 70 minutes stated in the recipe.  Mine still wiggled in the middle when I took it out at the 70 minutes so I raised the temperature to 325 and let it go another 10 minutes.  When I checked it with a toothpick it still was not done…the problem is I had to meet a friend for dinner.  I turned off the oven and just left the cake in there hoping it would finish baking.  When I got back home I checked it with a toothpick and it was all done.  I tried a piece the next day for breakfast before taking it to work to share with my co-workers.  The almond streusel was super yummy but the cake itself was another story.  Even though my toothpick had come out clean it was as if the cake was still underdone.  I was hesitant to take it to work thinking everyone else would feel the same way I did.  Much to my surprise everyone told me it was amazing!  What I thought was an underdone cake was a super moist one to everyone else! LOL

Check out the blogroll to see how my fellow cake slice bakers liked this cake.

Cake Keeper Cakes by Lauren Chattman

Streusel

  • 1 cup sliced almonds
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp light brown sugar

Cake batter

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cups (1  1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 bag (12 ounces) fresh cranberries

Method-streusel

Heat the oven to 300 degrees F.  Grease a 10 inch round springform pan.  Combine the butter, almonds and brown sugar in a medium bowl.  Work the mixture between your fingers to form large crumbs (didn’t really happen) and refrigerate until ready to use.

Method-cake

Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl.  Combine the eggs and sugar in a large mixing bowl and beat with an electric mixer on medium-high speed until the mixture is lightened and increased in volume, about 5 minutes.  With the mixer on low-speed add the butter in a low stream.  Turn the mixer to medium speed and beat for another 2 minutes.  Stir in the vanilla extract.

Gently but thoroughly fold in the flour mixture, 1/2 cup at a time.  Then stir in the cranberries and scrape the batter into the prepared pan, smoothing the pan with a spatula.  Sprinkle the streusel over the batter and bake the cake until it is golden and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  About 1hr to 1hr and 10 minutes.  Let the cake cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes.  Release the sides of the pan and use a large spatula to slide the cake from the pan onto the wire rack.  Cool completely before cutting into wedges and serving.

Store uneaten cake in a cake keeper or wrap in plastic and store at room temperature for up to 5 days.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 25, 2010 in Cakes

 

5 responses to “The Cake Slice Bakers: Cranberry Cake

  1. dawn

    December 26, 2010 at 8:48 AM

    Oh my heart is with you…I had an ant infestation at my last apartment.

    That said, your cake looks amazing. It was a very moist cake to be sure…and I found that it got moister the next day too from the cranberries. But I would still carve up a huge slice of your cake to be sure.

     
  2. Brownieville Girl

    December 27, 2010 at 4:03 AM

    Mine took longer than the specified time too … but my oven is dodgy at the moment and I just presumed it was that!

    Glad all your kitchen issues are resolved! :-}}

    I’m not surprised your co-workers loved the cake it looks amazing (I think we can be our own worst critics!!)

     
  3. Monica H

    January 2, 2011 at 10:57 PM

    ants? eeek! I’m glad they’re all out of there!

    Your cake looks good to me. Glad your co-workers liked it too!

     
  4. Maggie

    January 29, 2011 at 3:59 PM

    The streusel on top looks delicious! My husband and son are notorious for preferring what I think are underdone cakes.

     
  5. Felice

    February 7, 2011 at 2:54 AM

    I loved this cake. The combination of sweet vanilla cake and tart cranberries was irresistible. I am glad that I have more frozen cranberries so I can make it again.

     

Leave a Reply

 
