RSS

The Cake Slice Bakers: Cinnamon Pudding Cake

20 Nov

What do you picture when you read the words “cinnamon pudding cake?”  Do you picture a warm, moist and gooey cake?  A nicely spiced cake fit for the holiday season?  Well, this is what I think most of us Cake Slice Bakers were expecting.  Unfortunately things don’t always turn out as we imagine.

Many of my fellow bakers found this out when they baked the cake earlier this month.  The cake was being described as dry and simply not worth making again. There was lots of brainstorming as to how we could tweak the recipe to have a better end result.

I had decided on the changes I would make and was ready to make the cake.  Now there were a few of my fellow bakers that really enjoyed it so I was unsure which way things would work out for me.  I made the cake last night and it fell somewhere in the middle for me.  I didn’t love it but I didn’t hate it either.  There was a lot of the brown sugar “caramel” sauce when I turned it over and the cake came out very easily. The cake was light with a good cinnamon flavor and the sauce had the perfect amount of sweetness.  I served it with some vanilla ice cream which accompanied it quite nicely.  In my opinion this cake should be eaten with the ice cream…it would be pretty mediocre on its own. Even though my friend and her kids loved it I don’t plan on making this again.

Check out the other Cake Slice Bakers here to see their adventures in baking this month’s cake.

Adapted from Cake Keeper Cakes by Lauren Chattman

Caramel Topping

  • 1  3/4 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1  1/2 cups cold water
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp rum (couldn’t taste it in final product)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (I actually forgot to add it)

The Cake Batter

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Method – topping:

Heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray the bottom and sides of an 8 in square baking pan (I used 9″ round cake pan) with nonstick cooking spray.  Combine the brown sugar, water, butter, rum and salt in a small saucepan and bring to a boil, whisking occasionally, then set aside to cool.

Method – cake:

Sift all the dry ingredients together in a medium mixing bowl.  Cream the butter and sugar together in the bowl of a stand mixer on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Add the egg and beat until combined.  With the mixer now on medium-low speed add 1/3 of the flour mixture followed by 1/2 of the milk and the tsp of vanilla.  Continue by beating in the rest of the flour and milk, starting and ending with the flour.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and beat on medium speed for 30 seconds.

Add the batter to the prepared pan and smooth with a rubber spatula.  Place pan on a baking sheet and then pour caramel topping over the batter.  Carefully transfer cake to the oven and bake for 35 minutes.  Let the cake cool in the pan for 15 minutes, invert it onto a large rimmed serving platter and serve warm.

Let any leftover cake cool completely before storing in an airtight container at room temperature for 1 day or in the fridge for up to 3 days.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2010 in Cakes

 

9 responses to “The Cake Slice Bakers: Cinnamon Pudding Cake

  1. Anna

    November 20, 2010 at 5:37 PM

    It’s a shame that so many of the Bakers were disappointed by it.Funny that you mentioned how your friend and her kids loved it – my son has been talking repeatedly about it all day! It had that warm nursery-food quality, I think.

     
  2. Lou

    November 20, 2010 at 6:08 PM

    Nice photograph.
    I’m of the same opinion – okay but not worth making again.
    There are much better sticky toffee pudding recipes out there.

     
  3. Miri

    November 20, 2010 at 8:26 PM

    Can’t believe it was dry – it looks really nice in your photo!

     
  4. Brownieville Girl

    November 21, 2010 at 11:14 AM

    Glad your friend and her children enjoyed it.

    It wasn’t popular here.

     
  5. Kelly

    November 21, 2010 at 12:23 PM

    I also did not love the cake. It does look quite yummy in your photo, though (especially next to a scoop of ice cream).

     
  6. Felice

    November 21, 2010 at 11:48 PM

    My first attempt didn’t work out how I expected it to, but I am determined to try again because I loved the flavors.

     
  7. Katie

    November 22, 2010 at 2:05 AM

    Your sauce looks wonderfully thick and gooey

     
  8. Elle

    November 22, 2010 at 7:50 PM

    A shame that you didn’t like this. Ice cream does help. I think the only reason to keep the recipe is because it can be made with things usually on hand…for a last minute dessert. I think Anna said that. Anyway, your photo is lovely and the cake looks delish.

     
  9. dawn

    November 22, 2010 at 10:16 PM

    This was definitely a love it or leave it cake. I think you did a great job with it and that scoop of ice cream alongside the cake looks delish.

     

Leave a Reply

 
