RSS

SMS: Lemon Blueberry Muffins

14 Nov

The recipe chosen by Shandy of Pastry Heaven was strawberry muffins with fresh lemon and rosemary.  As you can clearly see I went a slightly different route.  My initial plan was to just leave out rosemary as I am not a fan of it even when it comes to savory dishes.  The change of plan came when I saw that the strawberries were just too pricey.  Blueberry muffins are my favorite so it all worked out in the end.

These muffins turned out light with just the right amount of sweetness and blueberries.  The fresh lemon zest adds such a nice touch.  I took them to work on Friday and everyone seemed to enjoy them.  I ended up eating one for breakfast and another as a snack…once again breaking my “one piece” rule.  Well, at least they were normal size muffins and not the gigantic ones found at most bakeries.

Check out Shandy’s blog to find the recipe and see her yummy muffins.  Go here for all the other SMS bakers and their muffin creations.

  • I reduced the flour to 2 cups and used 2  1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • Used 1  1/4 cups frozen blueberries
 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2010 in Muffins

 

6 responses to “SMS: Lemon Blueberry Muffins

  1. Fifikins

    November 14, 2010 at 12:42 AM

    Blueberry and lemon is a winning combo! They look great!

     
  2. Comfy Cook

    November 14, 2010 at 12:47 AM

    The blueberry sounds great. I like either orange or lemon with blueberry so I am sure, I would like these.

     
  3. Julie

    November 14, 2010 at 1:27 PM

    Blueberries and lemon are such a wonderful combination. I used frozen strawberries for mine. Your’s look beautiful.

     
  4. Jessica of My Baking Heart

    November 14, 2010 at 1:39 PM

    They look wonderful! 🙂 I love blueberry muffins!

     
  5. Shandy Hanke

    November 14, 2010 at 4:53 PM

    I love your blueberry and lemon. What a fun and colorful muffin! Thank you for baking along with me =).

     
  6. Gloria

    November 15, 2010 at 12:04 AM

    Your muffins look great! I went with blueberries too and was very happy with the results.

     

Leave a Reply

 
