RSS

The Daring Bakers: Doughnuts!!!

27 Oct

I am happy to announce that I am an official daring baker!!! The October 2010 Bakers challenge was hosted by Lori of Butter Me Up.  Lori chose to challenge DBers to make doughnuts.  She used several sources for her recipes including Alton Brown, Nancy Silverton, Kate Neumann and Epicurious.

When it comes to doughnuts I am definitely partial to the yeast variety…my favorite being glazed and jelly filled.  The only cake doughnut I enjoy is blueberry.  I waited in anticipation for the Daring Bakers October challenge to be announced.  I was excited and nervous at the same time as this was going to be my first time baking along with the group.  Once I found out I was being challenged to make doughnuts the anxiety took over and I was no longer so filled with excitement.  Daring bakers is most definitely an appropriate name because in my opinion you have to be quite daring to want to venture out and make something like homemade doughnuts!

Now that I have made them I realized there was no reason for me to be nervous.  It was much easier than expected as the dough was very quick to put together.  The only part that didn’t work out all too well for me was actually filling the doughnuts.  I fit a pastry bag with a 1/4 inch tip as the recipe stated but my preserves oozed out between the tip and the pastry bag making it a bit difficult to fill the doughnuts.  If I make these again I will definitely use the other suggested method….a squeeze bottle.  Regardless of the issues with filling my doughnuts I was very happy with this recipe and so were my co-workers!

Recipe by Kate Neumann

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup plus 1 tbsp lukewarm water
  • 1  1/2 envelopes of active dry yeast (3  1/4 tsp)
  • 1  1/2 tbsp honey
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 6 large egg yolks
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar, plus more for rolling
  • 2 tsp kosher salt
  • 3 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 cups canola oil for frying ( I didn’t need this much)
  • 3/4 cup seedless raspberry preserves
  • Confectioners’ sugar for dusting (just realized I skipped this part)

1.  In the bowl of a standing electric mixer mix, mix the water, yeast, honey and 1 cup plus 2 tbsp of the flour.  Cover with plastic wrap and let stand at room temperature until foamy, about 1 hr.

2.  Return the bowl to the mixer fitted with a dough hook.  Add the remaining 1 and 3/4 cups plus 2 tbsp of the flour, milk, egg yolks, 1/3 cup of sugar and the salt.  Mix at low-speed until blended then add the butter and knead at medium speed until silky but sticky, about 5 minutes (the dough will not pull away from the side of the bowl).  Using an oiled spatula scrape the dough into an oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

*Recipe states the dough will not rise but mine did.  I also left it in the fridge two nights without a problem.

3.  In a large saucepan heat the canola oil to 360 degrees.  Line a rack with paper towels and fill a shallow bowl with 1/2 inch of granulated sugar.  On a lightly floured surface roll out the dough a scant 1/2 inch thick.  Using a 1/2 inch round biscuit cutter stamp out 32 rounds.  Fry the rounds 8 at a time until they are browned.  Be sure to keep the oil between 360 and 375 degrees.  Drain the bomboloni on the paper towels and then roll them in the granulated sugar.  Continue frying and rolling the remaining bomboloni.

* Recipe states not to re-roll the dough but I did so without a problem.  I also used a 2″ cutter as it is all I had available.

4.  Fit a pastry bag with a plain doughnut tip (or a 1/4 inch tip) and fill with the preserves (you can also use a squeeze bottle).  Poke the tip three-fourths of the way into the bomboloni and squeeze in the preserves, pulling the tip out slightly as you squeeze to fill them as much as possible.  Dust the bomboloni with the confectioners’ sugar and serve warm.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

22 responses to “The Daring Bakers: Doughnuts!!!

  1. Ellie (Almost Bourdain)

    October 27, 2010 at 2:54 AM

    Great looking doughnuts! Very nicely done.

     
  2. Lucy

    October 27, 2010 at 4:28 AM

    I am glad you enjoyed your first challenge, they look great

     
  3. madeinthepresenceofnut

    October 27, 2010 at 4:48 AM

    These look so tasty!
    Lovely blog too 🙂

     
  4. Umm Ibrahim

    October 27, 2010 at 4:56 AM

    They look perfect!

    I also made quite a mess trying to fill my doughnuts after they were fried. I just saw someone else’s post and they filled the doughnut with jam before the final proving and the result was excellent. I will certainly try that next time.

     
  5. Heather

    October 27, 2010 at 5:17 AM

    Hi from one apron fan to another – congratulations on completing your first challenge at DBers. your doughnuts look delicious !

     
  6. Arlene

    October 27, 2010 at 7:06 AM

    Welcome to the Daring Bakers! Your doughnuts look fab – so perfectly shaped. Great challenge! x

     
  7. Alice

    October 27, 2010 at 8:12 AM

    Delicious. Glad to see that someone else was as worried as I was about having a go at doughnuts. Another one for us to tick off our to-do list!

     
  8. charlotte

    October 27, 2010 at 8:12 AM

    congratulations on your first challenge! you’ve done a wonderful job.. you’re bomboloni came out perfectly!

     
  9. Shelley C

    October 27, 2010 at 9:44 AM

    Welcome to the Daring Bakers and congratulations on completing your first challenge! You did a wonderful job and your donuts look scrumptious! I’m glad I am not the only one who has trouble with pastry bags… 🙂

     
  10. Heather

    October 27, 2010 at 12:06 PM

    Congrats on your first of many successes at DB! Your doughnuts looks amazing. I’m thinking I should have tried these ones after seeing yours.

     
  11. Renuka

    October 27, 2010 at 5:30 PM

    the bombolonis look fantastic. I also spied the previous recipe , the carmelitas…bookmarking it. The way you have praised it, I must try it…

     
  12. Ladybird

    October 27, 2010 at 10:02 PM

    Hi there 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog. Love your bombolini – they’re surprisingly easy to make, aren’t they?! Well done 🙂

     
  13. andromean

    October 28, 2010 at 12:34 AM

    Your doughnuts look absolutely yummy! Also congrats on your first challenge completed! Yes we should all go one a doughnut tour of Canada!

     
  14. KV

    October 28, 2010 at 9:40 AM

    Congrats on the first challenege, those look great

     
  15. Audax Artifex

    October 28, 2010 at 10:56 AM

    Hello and welcome to the Daring Bakers’ and congrats on your first very successful challenge those doughnuts are beautiful and so glad to hear that they worked out so well for you. Thank you for commenting on my blog also. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

     
  16. Kocinera

    October 28, 2010 at 1:02 PM

    Your donuts look great! I know what you mean about poking a hole in the donuts with a piping tip…I had to use a chopstick! However, I think a squeeze bottle would’ve made things even easier. Welcome to the Daring Bakers! 😀

     
  17. kayssweetobsessions

    October 28, 2010 at 2:00 PM

    Thanks for the compliment on my doughnuts. I have to say your bombolini looks delicious! I’ll definitely be giving that a try.

     
  18. Mary

    October 28, 2010 at 5:08 PM

    Welcome to the Daring Bakers and congratulations on completing your first challenge! My first challenge was a gingerbread house, and I remember wondering how on earth I was going to get that done in the busy holiday season. Your doughnuts look wonderful, and I especially like the sound of the plum-raspberry filling. Those are my 2 favourite kinds of jam in one!
    🙂

     
  19. squeaky mouse

    October 29, 2010 at 1:58 PM

    my mouth is watering!

     
  20. Faery

    October 31, 2010 at 8:53 PM

    Welcome to the DBs. I’m with you the yeast doughnuts are the bests. your bomboloni look absolutely yummmmmmmy :9 I am a fan of bomboloni

     
  21. marcellina

    November 6, 2010 at 8:26 PM

    Your bomboloni are great! Welcome to Daring Bakers! I flick through your blog and I particularly like the Caramel Carmelitas! YUM! I will be making those!

     

Leave a Reply

 
