RSS

The Cake Slice Bakers: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

20 Oct

I am so excited to be posting about this cake because it was absolutely delicious and it was my first time baking along with The Cake Slice Bakers.  I really like how everyone gets to vote on a selection of recipes for the month and then we bake the winning recipe.  It is a nice way for everyone to be part of the decision-making versus having one person get to choose the recipe.  Anyways, on to the this wonderful pumpkin cake studded with semi-sweet chocolate chips and walnuts.  I kept on calling it pumpkin chocolate walnut loaf instead of its actual name.  For some reason I don’t see this is a pound cake so I guess that’s why the name didn’t stick in my head!  Regardless of the name it was absolutely delicious.

I made two loaves because I would have been left with extra chips and walnuts.  I sent one loaf off with a friend to my old job and brought the other one in to work.  I got great reviews from both offices along with some “threatening” text messages from my friends at my old job!  LOL  It is my way of staying close to them….I baked for them frequently when I use to work there.  I see it as love but they on the other hand think I am trying to make them have to add another notch to their belts!  All this baking is tempting for me as well!  I use to bake a lot to begin with but now that I joined three baking groups it seems to be more frequent.  I had to establish a rule…I am only allowed one piece/slice of what I bake.  I haven’t quite followed my rule for this loaf as I have had a slice for breakfast two days this week.  Well, I didn’t have any of my Hummingbird cake with coconut walnut frosting from SMS that I posted at the beginning of the month so I guess it all evens out!  Please go and check out the other bakers here to read about their experience with this yummy cake.

Recipe from Cake Keeper Cakes by Lauren Chattman

Ingredients:

  • 1  3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick), softened
  • 1  1/4 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used skim since it’s what I had @ home)
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Method:

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F and coat the inside of a 9×5 inch loaf pan with nonstick spray and dust with flour.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, cloves, and nutmeg in a medium mixing bowl. Combine the butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl and cream with an electric mixer on medium high-speed until fluffy, about 3 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl once or twice as necessary.

  • My batter was looking quite unappealing at this time (curdled would be the accurate term) but it was fine after adding the flour so don’t worry!

With the mixer on medium low-speed add the eggs one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition.  Stir in the pumpkin puree, the vanilla and the milk.  Turn the mixer to low-speed and add the flour mixture, 1/2 cup at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition.  Stir in the chocolate chips and the walnuts.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top with a rubber spatula.  Bake the cake until it is firm to the touch and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean; 55 minutes to 1 hr.  Let the cake cool in the pan for 5 minutes and then place on wire rack to cool completely.

Store cake at room temperature in a cake keeper for up to 3 days or in the refrigerator wrapped in plastic for up to 1 week.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2010 in Cakes

 

16 responses to “The Cake Slice Bakers: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

  1. natalia

    October 20, 2010 at 1:21 PM

    Ciao ! Your loaves are delicious looking ! And yes italian pans are different !

     
  2. Evelyn

    October 20, 2010 at 1:31 PM

    I should start following your rule, I ate waaaay too much of the pumpkin cake that I baked up!

     
  3. Brownieville Girl

    October 20, 2010 at 1:34 PM

    Really looks delicious.

    Love your “only allowed one slice” rule – think I might adopt it too!!

     
  4. Anna

    October 20, 2010 at 3:36 PM

    Admiring your ‘one slice’ rule, but knowing deep down that I shall never achieve that 😉 They look great!

     
  5. ferji425

    October 20, 2010 at 3:57 PM

    Thanks for the lovely comments ladies =) The rule is most definitely not easy to live by. As I mentioned I did not quite succeed this time around as I had a slice for breakfast on two different days. Actually now that I think about it today made it day three! On the plus side it kept me full until noon =)

     
  6. Kelly

    October 20, 2010 at 6:14 PM

    I totally agree about setting rules (though mine are a bit looser – hence the tightness of my pants). I could put away a scary amount of cake if I tried!

    Your coworkers are lucky to have you bringing in such tasty treats.

     
  7. Felice

    October 20, 2010 at 7:17 PM

    I like the idea of having only one slice, but knowing me I would just cut a very large piece 🙂 . Like you I tend to give away a lot of my baked goods so the temptation is not there.

     
  8. Maranda

    October 20, 2010 at 8:33 PM

    LOL! Yup. You are an addict as well! I try to only have one piece of what I make as well. I send my baked goods into a room full of Army dudes so I’m safe. Although, I try not to send them in right before a PT test. But right after the PT test they are thrilled! Great job on this cake!!

     
  9. Katie

    October 21, 2010 at 2:15 AM

    Your cake looks delicious and absolutely studded with choc chips – yum. I admit I ate a huge slice for breakfst one morning too. I’m sure your work friends were delighted with their cake

     
  10. Avril

    October 21, 2010 at 5:13 PM

    This cake was super yum!

    I look forward to baking along side you for this wonderful baking group….:-)

     
  11. becca

    October 21, 2010 at 8:18 PM

    dont worry your not the only one having problems eating baked goods. i’ve been baking so much more since i started my blog i have desserts up the wazzoo haha. but it seems like yours turn out really nice aswell 🙂

     
  12. Monica H

    October 21, 2010 at 10:12 PM

    This was more like a pumpkin bread to me too, but mostly because it was inloaf form and because it was a lot moister than most pound cake. either way it was yummy and your slices cake looks great!

     
  13. Emily

    October 21, 2010 at 10:25 PM

    The Cake Slice is a wonderful place to start baking!

    Made scones a couple of times but not cakes! October’s cake was the first thing I ever baked in my new oven.

     
  14. Caroline

    October 23, 2010 at 1:23 AM

    so glad to see your cake was well-received. I like your rule, too though I’m not sure I can follow it. 🙂 Welcome to The Cake Slice.

     
  15. Leslie Limon

    October 24, 2010 at 11:47 PM

    I love the color of your pound cake! This cake was too good to just have one slice! 🙂

     
  16. ferji425

    October 25, 2010 at 9:31 PM

    Thanks again ladies. My rule is great in theory but once faced with something as yummy as this cake it seems to just slip my mind!

     

Leave a Reply

 
