RSS

SMS: Hummingbird Cake With Coconut Walnut Frosting

03 Oct

This week’s wonderful recipe is brought to us by Eliana from A Chica Bakes.  I was excited that she gave us the freedom to be able to pair the frosting with whatever tickled our fancy.  The frosting is supposed to be coconut pecan but I am not a huge fan of pecans and quite honestly the walnuts were less expensive so it was an easy choice for me.  I know when people think of this delicious frosting they instantly think of German chocolate cake but I wanted to pair it with something other than chocolate.  Not only am I not a huge fan of chocolate desserts but I figured many of my fellow bakers would likely pair it with something chocolatey.

My taste buds seem to feel that bananas, pineapple and coconut make for a wonderful tropical combination so this cake was the perfect choice for me.  I have never tasted coconut pecan frosting nor made a “cooked” frosting so this was a lot of fun for me.  The frosting was everything I imagined it to be and it was very easy to make.  I didn’t cut myself a slice yet but I did taste the frosting along with the piece of cake I cut off the bottom layer when leveling it off.  The combination definitely did not dissapoint…..forget about the cream cheese frosting typically paired with hummingbird cake!

The recipe I used is from Joy of Baking and although I am posting it below you can find it here.

  • 1 cup pecans, toasted and finely chopped (I left them out)
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 3/4 cups safflower, corn or canola oil ( I used canola)
  • 1  1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 – 8oz can crushed pineapple, do not drain
  • 2 cups mashed ripe bananas (3-4 medium bananas)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and place rack in center of the oven.  Butter or spray two 9×2 inch round cake pans and line the bottom of the pans with a circle of parchment paper (I don’t think the paper is necessary).

Place the pecans on a baking sheet and bake in the oven for about 8 minutes or until lightly browned and fragrant.  Let cool and then chop finely.

In a large bowl whisk together all the dry ingredients (expect pecans).  In another large bowl mix together all the wet ingredients and the finely chopped pecans.  Add the wet ingredients to the flour mixture and mix until combined.  Evenly divide the batter between the two prepared pans and bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean (mine baked for 40 min).

Don’t forget to check out Eliana’s blog here for the coconut pecan frosting recipe.  Also check out all the other SMS bakers here to see what they came up with!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2010 in Cakes

 

12 responses to “SMS: Hummingbird Cake With Coconut Walnut Frosting

  1. Shandy Hanke

    October 3, 2010 at 7:09 PM

    I really love how you paired the coconut (walnut) frosting with a hummingbird cake! Your photo looks delicious with the golden cake layers and creamy, chunky frosting. YUM!

     
  2. Candy

    October 3, 2010 at 7:11 PM

    Great idea to pair this with a hummingbird cake! Looks fantastic!

     
  3. Gloria

    October 3, 2010 at 7:40 PM

    Your hummingbird cake sounds like a perfect pairing with frosting! And it looks delicious.

     
  4. Tracey

    October 4, 2010 at 12:47 AM

    Your cake is lovely, and I think your flavor combination was a smart one! Glad you enjoyed the frosting so much! I’ve never made this type of frosting before either, and while I thought it was good, I’d definitely still opt for the cream cheese frosting instead 🙂

     
  5. dawn

    October 4, 2010 at 7:34 AM

    I agree…coconut can go so well with more tropical flavors like banana and pineapple. Perfect choice and great looking cake.

     
  6. Lisa

    October 4, 2010 at 7:34 AM

    Hummingbird cake and this frosting – yummy. Love the two-layered look.

     
  7. Fifikins

    October 4, 2010 at 7:35 AM

    After I baked my cupcakes I thought Hummingbird Cake! Yours looks amazing!

     
  8. Nina

    October 4, 2010 at 10:46 PM

    Sounds fruity and fun! Last time I made hummingbird cake..it was like a year ago and this sounds amazing as a topping!

     
  9. Tessa

    October 4, 2010 at 11:25 PM

    Despite my brownies, I actually also steer away from chocolate baked goods when I can. Coconut, banana, and pineapple sound like a wonderful combo! I will have to keep this in mind because I really liked this frosting!

     
  10. KB

    October 5, 2010 at 8:44 AM

    This cake is gorgeous! I didn’t think it was possible for it to taste even better than it looks, but it did! Loved every bite. 🙂

     
  11. Shandy Hanke

    October 11, 2010 at 5:40 PM

    Thank you for stopping by and leaving the wonderful comments on my cashew brittle for SMS. Now I just wish I could share some with everyone because the recipe makes a lot =).

     
  12. Hanaa

    October 13, 2010 at 12:17 PM

    Thanks for stopping by! Love how tall your cake is. Even though I can’t eat coconut or walnuts, your frosting looks delicious! Great color, sticky and caramel-y. Yum!

    As for the brittle, when you have a chance, do try my recipe sometime. I made the instructions as detailed as possible. If you follow them to a T, I have no doubt your brittle will turn out great!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
