RSS

Breakfast for dinner

01 Oct

Again, I found myself trying to get rid of this buttermilk this evening.  Luckily I love breakfast for dinner so I decided to make some buttermilk pancakes.  I looked to my May 2010 issue of Food Network magazine which included a booklet of 50 pancake and waffle recipes!  The recipe was very quick to pull together and made some delicious fluffy pancakes.  The few times I have made pancakes at home I use my electric griddle.  This time I decided to use a skillet and I will definitely not be doing that again! It just takes too much time compared to the griddle.

  • 1  1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1  1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl and set aside.  In another bowl whisk together the buttermilk, eggs, butter and vanilla extract.  Whisk the wet ingredients into the flour mixture until just combined. Ladle 1/4 cupfuls onto a hot buttered skillet and cook until bubbly. Flip and cook until golden on the bottom.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
