RSS

Birthday party cupcakes

26 Sep

Let me start off by saying I am very happy with how the cupcakes look on my tower.  The birthday girl’s reaction was adorable.  She truly had a surprised look on her face and brought her hand to her chest as to say “oh my goodness.”  She just turned 3yrs old this week so I am just adding the caption to go along with her facial expression and body language.  My friend was surprised and excited to see how everything turned out.

Now on to the cupcakes themselves…..cookies n’ cream and plain vanilla.  I was able to get a small taste of the cookies n’ cream one and it was good.  Not amazing….delicious or anything that would make my heart skip a beat…they were simply okay.  The kids and parents alike seemed to enjoy them but I on the other hand was a bit dissapointed.  The recipe comes from Jen of Beantown Baker.  I was excited to make them as many people raved about them both on Jen’s blog and on Annie’s Eats.  Maybe something went wrong at some point or maybe they my taste buds simply weren’t fans.  Ultimately the important thing is everyone else seemed to enjoy them and they looked super cute! Please go here to see Jen’s recipe….you’ll likely be with the majority and fall in love with these cupcakes.

On to the vanilla cupcakes….these I definitely did not like.  In my opinion these cupcakes were very dense….not light and airy as expected.  The recipe comes from Joy of Baking as does the buttercream frosting I used to top both of the cupcakes.  Jen paired her cookies n’ cream cupcakes with a cream cheese frosting but I opted for the flavor 3 yr olds may be more accustomed to, which luckily turned out well.  You can check out both the vanilla cupcake and frosting recipe here.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2010 in Cupcakes, Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Birthday party cupcakes

  1. Leslie

    September 27, 2010 at 1:12 AM

    Those cookies ‘n cream cupcakes are seriously cute! They all look so good on your tower. I think kids are less discriminating with flavor than we are, and their parents are happy as long as the kids are, so I’m not surprised they all enjoyed them. They look so great! Congrats on making the birthday girl’s day so special!

     
    • ferji425

      September 27, 2010 at 10:41 PM

      Thanks Leslie =) I’m just glad they looked good and the kiddos enjoyed them.

       
  2. Shandy Hanke

    September 27, 2010 at 8:13 PM

    I LOVE your cupcake tower! How fun! The cookies n’ cream cupcakes look delicious. I feel terrible that the cupcakes were not your favorite recipes for flavor and density after all the effort you put in to this but I am sure everyone else adored each one of them. The pictures look beautiful.

     
    • ferji425

      September 27, 2010 at 10:45 PM

      Thanks Shandy =) You are so right on it being a lot of work. It was all worth it though as my friend was happy and the kids seemed to enjoy them.

       
  3. Julie

    September 27, 2010 at 8:18 PM

    Your cupcakes look so good. I love the tower and how great that you made it!!

     
    • ferji425

      September 28, 2010 at 4:57 PM

      Thanks Julie! =)

       

Leave a Reply

 
