RSS

SMS: Lemon Raspberry Buttermilk Pie

19 Sep

I have been anxiously waiting for today as this is my first baking experience with SMS.  I wish I could report I was 100% successful with this recipe.  For starters I went to three different grocery stores and could not find fresh blueberries.  I therefore decided to go with raspberries.

Now for the not so wonderful experience with the pie dough.  I used a pastry blender to make the dough as I do not own a food processor.  I’ve noticed most people seem to use a processor to make their dough but when I read Melissa prefers to use a pastry blender and recommends using it over the other methods I went ahead and bought one.  Just after my first attempt at cutting the butter into the flour mixture my pastry blender looked like it had been run over by a tractor!  I got it for under $5 so maybe the quality was not so great.  I did my best to get the butter to resemble large peas but it was not so easy.  I think this may have affected the dough coming together properly.

Then my dough shrunk after the blind baking process which then caused the custard to seep in underneath as I poured it over the crust.  So, I ended up with soggy crust on the bottom and practically burnt crust all on the rim of the pie. When cutting myself a slice it kind of fell apart therefore I am not able to post a picture. I have never made or eaten a custard pie so I am even unsure if the filling was the texture it should be.

On to the most important part…..how it tasted.  Even though it was on the toasty side the rim of the crust was good and the filling has a nice lemony flavor….I’m just not too sure on the consistency.  At least I can say the raspberries were absolutely delicious! LOL     I’m still debating on whether my pie should be shared with co-workers tomorrow or if I should keep this experience to myself!  Well, myself and all the other SMS bakers.

I’m posting a picture of the pie plate I used as I think its just so cute.  It’s from Martha Stewart and I got it at Macy’s.  

This week’s recipe was chosen by Melissa of LuLu the Baker.  Please visit her blog to see what this pie should look like and to get the recipe.  Even though my experience was not as successful as I would have wanted  I still enjoyed baking along with all the other bakers.  Check out the other SMS bakers here to see how they did.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2010 in Tarts & Pies

 

10 responses to “SMS: Lemon Raspberry Buttermilk Pie

  1. Tracey

    September 19, 2010 at 7:23 PM

    Welcome to the group! Glad you’re baking along 🙂

    You definitely aren’t alone in having issues with the pie crust. Most of us have found Melissa’s all-butter crust shrinks as it bakes. I skipped the pie crust entirely this week in favor of a graham cracker crust, but it probably wasn’t a good idea as I ran into some issues. Your raspberries look yummy! I couldn’t find reasonably priced fresh blueberries either, so I went with frozen.

     
  2. Julie

    September 19, 2010 at 7:57 PM

    Welcome! You’re not alone in the pie crust challenges! I took my picture before cutting, just in case it wouldn’t cut well. Good thing I did! Raspberries sound delicious with the lemon as well.

     
  3. Melissa B.

    September 19, 2010 at 8:32 PM

    I’m so sorry your pie didn’t turn out better! This was my third and last time trying the all-butter pie dough; it just doesn’t work for me. I had the same problem with filling seeping under the crust. Thanks for baking with me anyway!

    –Melissa

     
  4. Candy

    September 19, 2010 at 9:19 PM

    Welcome to the group! Sorry you had some issues! The pie crust always shrinks but is delicious! I’m getting ready to cut into my pie and suspect I’ll have similiar issues with the texture…

     
  5. Gloria

    September 19, 2010 at 10:20 PM

    Welcome to SMS! Your pie looks great. The raspberries look amazing. I also had trouble finding good blueberries…I finally found some but it was the last decent looking pint so my pie had fewer berries than I would have liked. I too had issues with the crust. But if your pie tastes good that’s all that matters! 😉

     
  6. Tessa

    September 19, 2010 at 10:38 PM

    Welcome to SMS!

    I don’t think you’re alone in pie crust issues… You’re already a step ahead of me in that you are brave enough to try =) The raspberries sound like a great substitution. Raspberry and lemon is definitely a great combo. Glad to have you along!

     
  7. Ms Fifikins

    September 20, 2010 at 3:32 AM

    Welcome to SMS! Your pie looks amazing! Lemon and raspberry is one of my favourite combinations!

     
  8. Comfy Cook

    September 20, 2010 at 8:54 PM

    I am so glad you tried the raspberries. They look great and the flavors sound like they blend beautifully. I hope you had fun with this.

     
  9. Margot

    September 20, 2010 at 9:19 PM

    Welcome to the group! The pie looks amazing with raspberries and I love the pie plate – so cute! Sorry about your pastry blender. I have a food processor, but I’ve grown to like using the pastry blender for pie dough (plus the food processor creates too many dishes).

     
  10. nikkichi14

    September 23, 2010 at 7:58 AM

    welcome to sms! i love raspberries and lemon together so i’m sure your pie tasted amazing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
