RSS

The Cake Slice Bakers: Cold Oven Cream Cheese Pound Cake

20 Apr

Have you ever heard of a cake being baked in a cold oven?  Well, if you haven’t you are not alone.  When this month’s cake was announced I was surprised to learn you do not pre-heat the oven.  This “technique” is supposed to result in a crisp crust on the pound cake.  This pound cake was delicious and not as dense as your typical pound cake.  The recipe calls for lemon zest along with fresh ginger.  I left out the ginger as I don’t like it and quite honestly why make something the baker herself won’t like? LOL  I wish I would have added more lemon zest and some lemon juice as the flavor was not as pronounced as I would have liked.  I did add a lemon glaze on top (lemon juice + powdered sugar) but it still wasn’t enough lemon flavor for me.  Granted, this wasn’t supposed to a lemon pound cake but I am a lover of lemon desserts!  As usual I shared this with my co-workers and everyone loved it.  Click here to see what my fellow bakers thought about this cake.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups cake flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 6 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tbsp grated fresh lemon zest
Method:
Adjust oven rack to the lower-middle position.  Grease a 12 cup bundt pan and dust with flour.  Combine the butter, cream cheese and sugar in a large mixing bowl and cream with an electric mixer on medium-high speed until fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl when necessary.
With the mixer on medium-speed add the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition.  Beat in the vanilla, ginger and lemon zest.  Turn the mixer to low-speed and add the flour mixture, half a cup at a time, scraping down the bowl after each addition.  Mix batter for 30 seconds on medium-speed.
Spread the batter into the bundt pan and place the cake in a cold oven.  Turn the oven to 325 degrees F and bake without opening the oven door until it is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean, about 65-80 minutes.  Cool the cake in the pan for 15 minutes, then invert it onto a cooling rack.  Cool completely before slicing and serving.  Store uneaten cake in a cake keeper or wrap in plastic and store at room temperature for up to 3 days.
 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2011 in Cakes

 

8 responses to “The Cake Slice Bakers: Cold Oven Cream Cheese Pound Cake

  1. champa

    April 20, 2011 at 10:01 AM

    Your picture is making feel “I should’ve made the entire recipe too to get a nice bundt cake”.

     
  2. Lou

    April 20, 2011 at 10:16 AM

    I’m completely with you. I don’t like ginger and wish I had added more lemon-iness. Your cake looks great!

     
  3. Kelly-Jane

    April 20, 2011 at 5:16 PM

    I love ginger, and tou could taste it, so best left out when you aren’t keen.

    Your cake look fabulous :)

     
  4. nicole

    April 20, 2011 at 6:50 PM

    yours looks delicious!

     
  5. Katie

    April 21, 2011 at 1:30 AM

    Your cake looks gorgeous. So tall and fluffy. Love the lemony glaze

     
  6. Emily

    April 21, 2011 at 12:56 PM

    Love that close-up!

     
  7. Mary

    April 21, 2011 at 9:50 PM

    What a gorgeous cake. This is my first visit to your site and I spent some time browsing through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did that. I really like the food and recipes you feature here. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great evening and enjoy the holiday weekend. Blessings…Mary

     
  8. Monica H

    April 26, 2011 at 11:47 PM

    I don’t like ginger either, so I left it out as well, but doubled the lemon zest. I could taste the lemon, but think it could have used even more! Like that you glazed your cake too. yummy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

