RSS

Raspberry and Cream Cheese Brownie Bites

27 Mar

My intention was never to make brownies but rather brownie inspired truffles.  It all started because I had sent my brother some pictures of the chocolate chip stuffed cookies I made.  He then started to ask me when I was finally going to send him some goodies.  I of course promised to make him something amazing and mail it out as soon as possible.  After lots of browsing on the internet and my different cookbooks I was inspired by the different cake and cookie type truffles floating around different blogs.  My brother loves the combination of chocolate and raspberry so I knew that was the way to go.

I made a pan of brownies using the recipe on the Nestle box of cocoa powder.  Once cool I crumbled it up as best as possible….it was quite sticky.  To the brownie “crumbs”  I added 3/4 cup of raspberry preserves and 1/2 cup of some cream cheese frosting I made.  I put the mixture in the fridge to chill for about 2 hrs.  I then proceeded to roll them into small balls and then covered them with some chopped toasted walnuts. Sadly I realized these were not going to survive in shipping….way to soft and fudge like.  They were simply not what I had in mind.

I wasn’t going to give up as the flavors were definitely there and I was looking forward to being able to ship it to my brother tomorrow.  So I popped them in the oven at 350F for about 15 minutes.  So they don’t have the usual crusty edges brownies do but they are good and have all the flavors my brother loves.  I’ll just have to wait and see what he thinks about them!

You can check out the Nestle recipe here (makes a great brownie IMO).

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2011 in Brownies

 

4 responses to “Raspberry and Cream Cheese Brownie Bites

  1. Deeba @ PAB

    March 28, 2011 at 6:34 AM

    They look GREAT…I love how you experimented and came out with a winner!

     
  2. Lea

    April 6, 2011 at 4:31 AM

    They look amazing, love it!

     
  3. Miguel

    April 12, 2011 at 11:24 AM

    I am lucky enough to say that I was the recipient of these heavenly morsels. The combination of the sweet tartness of the raspberries with the nutty crunch of the walnuts made me happy for days. These brownie bites were the perfect sweet indulgence. I’m not known for my sweet tooth so I loved how these were just the right size. I shared them with my friends and everyone found it hard to only have just one.

    love you BC–look forward to your next package ;-)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

