RSS

My handmade cupcake tower!

22 Sep

My friend is having a birthday party this weekend for her little munchkin and I will be making cupcakes for the party.  I couldn’t just let them sit on a table amongst the other food as if they were nothing special!  I remembered a step by step tutorial I had seen not long ago by Annie of Annie’s Eats.  I absolutely adore Annie’s blog and decided to make the tower in order to display the special birthday girl’s cupcakes!  Please go here for Annie’s tutorial.

Although Annie’s instructions are very easy to follow this was not an easy project for me. I had to improvise as I could not find cardboard cake circles that didn’t come in packs of 10 or more.  Believe it or not I went to the baking aisle at Michael’s and grabbed a 12″, 10″ and 8″ cake pan and traced them onto a thick poster board I had just purchased.  I asked the very nice Michael’s cashier if it was okay and she gave me the green light.  By this point I had already told her what I was planning to do and even showed her Annie’s tutorial using my blackberry!

I had no idea the work that was waiting for me when it came to cutting out the traced circles.  I used a box cutter because there was no way scissors were going to cut through the board.  My hands were seriously hurting by the time I was done!  Apart from the cutting issues my hot glue gun decided not to work.  I had to buy a new one during my lunch break today.  This one worked perfectly and I was able to finish where I had left off yesterday.  I put in a good amount of hard work but the birthday girl is most definitely worth it.  I am very happy with the my tower and I can’t wait to see how it looks with all the cupcakes in their cute pink and purple liners!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “My handmade cupcake tower!

  1. Leslie

    September 26, 2010 at 8:07 PM

    I am in awe of anyone who can do something like this! It looks absolutely perfect to me. I’m sure the birthday girl will be thrilled!

     
  2. Anna

    October 5, 2010 at 11:25 AM

    You have real talent there, because that is genius! What a great tutorial, too – thanks for posting the link :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

